Co-Chairs



H.E. Wolfgang Ischinger (Germany) Former German deputy foreign minister and ambassador to the United States



H.E. Igor Ivanov (Russia) Professor at the Moscow State Institute for International Relations. Former minister of foreign affairs



Sen. Sam Nunn (United States)

Co-chairman and CEO of the Nuclear Threat Initiative (NTI), distinguished professor at the Sam Nunn School of International Affairs at Georgia Tech. U.S. senator from Georgia for 24 years including chairman of the Senate Armed Services Committee

Director



Prof. Robert H. Legvold Marshall Shulman Professor Emeritus of Political Science at Columbia University

Members of the Commission

- General Charles Boyd (United States)
 Former President and CEO, Business Executives for National Security. Former deputy commander in chief, U.S. Forces in Europe.
- Lord Des Browne (United Kingdom)
 Convener, Top Level Group of UK Parliamentarians for Multilateral Nuclear
 Disarmament and Nonproliferation; and member, European Leadership Network for
 Multilateral Nuclear Disarmament and Nonproliferation. Former defense secretary.
- Lord John Browne (United Kingdom) Managing director, River Stone, an energy and power-focused private equity firm. Former CEO, British Petroleum p.l.c.
- H.E. Hikmet Cetin (Turkey)
 Former minister of foreign affairs.
- H.E. Oleksandr Chalyi (Ukraine)
 Former ambassador and deputy foreign minister.
- Prof. Alexander Dynkin (Russia)
 Director, IMEMO (Institute of World Economy and International Relations).
- Col. Gen. Viktor Esin (Russia)
 Former chief-of-staff, Strategic Rocket Forces
- Dr. Herman Gref (Russia)
 CEO, Sberbank. Former minister, economic development and trade.
- H.E. István Gyarmati (Hungary)
 CEO, International Centre for Democratic Transition. Former diplomat.
- Hon. Stephen Hadley (United States)
 Senior advisor for international affairs, United States Institute of Peace. Former assistant to the President for National Security Affairs, National Security Council.
- H.E. Tedo Japaridze (Georgia) Alternate director general, ICBSS (International Centre for Black Sea Studies) in Athens. Former foreign minister and national security adviser.
- Hon. Donald J. Johnston (Canada)
 Former Secretary General of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).
- Hon. Catherine Kelleher (United States)
 Senior fellow, Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University. Former deputy assistant secretary of defense for Russia, Ukraine, and Eurasia, and representative of the secretary of defense to NATO.

- Lord John Kerr (United Kingdom)
 Deputy chair, Royal Dutch Shell. Former diplomat (ambassador to the United States, EU, head of Diplomatic Service).
- Hon. John KornblumUnited States
 Senior counsel, Norr Stiefenhofer Lutz, Berlin. Former chair, Lazard & Co., Germany, former U.S. ambassador to Germany, and special envoy for the Dayton Peace Agreement.
- Adm. Jacques LanxadeFrance
 Chairman, Académie de Marine and President, Mediterranean Foundation for Strategic
 Research. Former Chief of Defense of the French Armed Forces.
- H.E. Vladimir Lukin (Russia)
 Human Rights Ombudsman of the President of the Russian Federation. Former ambassador to Washington.
- Dr. Klaus Mangold (Germany) Chairman, supervisory board of Rothschild GmbH (Frankfurt). Former member of the board, DaimlerChrysler AG.
- Mr. Richard Matzke (United States)
 President, NESW Solutions. Retired vice chairman, Chevron Corporation.
- H.E. René Nyberg (Finland)
 CEO, East Office of Finnish Industries. Former ambassador to Moscow and Berlin.
- H.E. Adam Daniel Rotfeld (Poland)
 Former Minister of Foreign Affairs; Co-chairman of Polish-Russian Group on Difficult Matters.
- H.E. Volker Ruhe (Germany)
 Former defense minister and member of the German Bundestag.
- H.E. Armen Sarkissian (Armenia) Chair of Knightsbridge Group, founder and director Eurasia Centre, University ofCambridge. Former prime minister.
- Gen. Vyacheslav Trubnikov (Russia)
 Former deputy foreign minister and director, Russia's Foreign Intelligence Service. General and ambassador.